What's new

What's roasting?

I thought that maybe there was already a thread like this, but after a little digging around I couldn't find any.

Since I find the world of home roasting so exciting, and seeing as how I'm very very new to this, I thought it'd be interesting to see what roasting equipment everyone was using, what they're roasting, what their target roast was, what they actually hit, and any other pieces of info you'd like to share such as settings, time of first crack, etc. Some followups on the roast quality in later posts would be very cool as well.

Behmor 1600
Honduras Organic Marcala -Cocosam Coop from SweetMaria's
4oz. roasted on the 1/2 pound setting with max time, P1 Profile.

I didn't keep a detailed log of this one, that will be for subsequent roasts. Hit the cool button a couple seconds after second crack started, and hit a nice FC+ roast which is what I was aiming for. We'll see how it tastes tomorrow. Bean color is not completely uniform, and there was a bit of chaff with a couple of beans that escaped during the roast.

You saw my other thread, so you got my roast there. Happy roasting! I'll be keeping tracking of this thread. I want to get everyone's info, too!

You saw my other thread, so you got my roast there. Happy roasting! I'll be keeping tracking of this thread. I want to get everyone's info, too!

Apparently we're the only ones here! C'mon guys, what's everyone roasting?

I roasted up some Brasil Moreninha Formosa "Raisin" and some Mexico Oaxaca SHB FTO a few days ago.

I change the profile a bit with the Mexican, and I'm quite happy with the results.

Roasted on my Turbo Crazy setup. (link if you don't know what a Turbo Crazy is: http://biobug.org/coffee/turbo-crazy/ )

I'll be roasting a lot of really awful (seriously.. 80% rejection rate, minimum) Peruvian Organic to break in my new 2.5K today or tomorrow. Should be fun. :)