What's new

What's a good vintage DE to try?

Good advice.

And one day, an OT must be tried...
I've got 2 Old Types. One cracked Ball End handle was too severe to repair so I replaced the tube with brass tubing I nickel plated, a few mm longer than the original. It shaves as good, if not a little smoother than my best Tech.
Ball Handle New Tube R.jpg

Old Type New Handle R.jpg

I started with an injector back in the 70s, so DE is a more recent addiction for me. I am not good at describing things. Stuff tastes good or bad. Notes of wood, etc go right past me. I don't have a clue what color magenta is. The blade is thicker and has less flex. Some describe it as closer to a straight, others say it is in between a cart and a DE. The older razors tend to be more aggressive so maybe that has to do with what razor was tried.

tankerjohn

A little poofier than I prefer
What’s the purpose of a comb? How does a long perform different from a short comb?
The comb is what protects you from the edge of the blade - the "safety" part of a "safety razor", if you will. The first few Gillette models - Old, New Improved, NEW - all used open combs. The Tech was the first Gillette razor to use a bar (sometimes called "closed comb") instead of an open comb because its cheaper and easier to manufacture. I think a comb definitely helps with longer whiskers. Some guys swear up and down an open comb allows the lather to stay on the skin longer before the blade scrapes it away, making for a smoother shave. Open or closed comb feels the same to me.