What's new

What was your first serious watch?

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.
I had a small distribution business for 28 years before Captain's Choice and sold it about five years ago. Then I realized, "Hey, this needs to be commemorated or something." I've never had a watch of any consequence so a watch it was. But which one? I considered them all and when I settled on the one I would end up getting I had to put my hands on my knees at the price. But it had it all - legibility, an amazing heritage, the manual winding, the size, the "good for any occasion" look. It just does not have a bad angle.

For literally three months I read all about this watch and would go talk to the jeweler and try it on, etc. Back and forth I went. Finally it felt right and I got it. They sized it for me and we got settled up. I was just about to leave and on a whim I asked him what the serial number was. He flipped it over and slowly read it to me. I about fell over. The first two digits are the year I graduated high school. The next two digits are the year I graduated college. The next three digits identify our wedding anniversary. The last digit is a zero. Seriously.

I drove home with a big smile thinking, "Okay God, I've got it - thanks for the affirmation!" :biggrin1:

Omega Speedmaster

View attachment 1112037
and you could probably not buy that watch today at the price you paid 5 years ago!
Unbelievable re the serial number. Thats amazing. The history of that watch is pretty cool too!

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.
A few months back I remember an exchange in the comments section of YouTube regarding the current price of a Rolex.

A wife had taken her dead husband's Rolex to "Antiques Roadshow". It was a 1960s Submariner and she had the receipt showing he had paid about $150 for it, new, in mid-1960s currency. This would come out to around $1500-2000 in today's money.