What's new

What to brew my tea in???

Hi All, i’ve recently gotten into tea and have purchased some loose leaf tea recently while in Pennsylvania (Dragon Well, Oolong and Silver Needle varieties).

I’m kind of interested in getting a teapot and would like to ask all you other tea drinkers out there what the best kind of tea pot is. I’ve seen many, and really like the “tetsubin” cast iron teapot’s. But since I am new to this, did not know if this was a good vessel for brewing my tea or not. I do realize that this is only for brewing the actual tea, not warming the water.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. I am really looking to keep whatever I but below 50.00 if possible.

Those are both really nice, and if I’m not mistaken I think I saw a Bodum Tea Press at my local Target last weekend. I may have take another trip and pick one of them up. I think it was the Assam one, at least it looked very similar.

And you are correct, once I get comfortable with the brewing process then I could move up to something nicer. I just really liked the looks of the Cast Iron ones.

Thanks guys.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
Those pots are specifically designed for oolongs, but they work well with dragon wells, pouchongs, or anything that has a sizeable leaf that unfurls. I wouldn't think that blacks, pi lo chuns, or other small leaves would work as well.

For oolongs, they can't be beat.

Can't go wrong with BODUM. I like this one.

I have this pot too, and while I like it, be aware that I've had two infusers break the little tabs that hold it into the pot - the first one was broken in the box (replaced), and the second was broken after some use. I like the design, I just think BODUM goofed in not making the tabs stronger or more elastic. Just FYI.

I don't think there's any reason for you not to go the way of the tetsubin if that's what you like.

There are many that are reasonably priced and work very well. There's no difficulty in using them either.