What's new

What soap after Tabac?

Looking for some recommendations.

I am relatively new to DE safety razor shaving and have been using Tabac exclusively since the start. I like the soap and the scent.

I also have a small Col. Conk bay rum in a travel container that I haven't tried yet, I like the smell of the raw soap but have not used it yet.

As we (in Australia) head into winter I am looking for recommendations of good soaps and scents to consider, especially after having used Tabac.

If I like the scent I may look to get a matching aftershave so if there is already one to match that is good if not what do you match it with?

Do you recommend going dark and woody in winter or lighter with citrus and florals to brighten the darker days?

Chef455

Head Cheese Head Chef
First off, welcome to the forums! I think the lack of response here may be due to such a huge realm of possibilities. It's not like this group not to pipe up with an opinion or two. I tend to stay away from floral in general and save my citrus soaps for warmer months. Tabac has such a distinctive scent it's difficult to use it as a springboard into something else. Maybe something "Barber Shop"? Stirling soaps has the best samples IMHO. I don't know if they are available to you in Australia. Good luck with the search. Grab a few. An artist's pallet needs more than on color for certain.

Tabac is a classic. There are several ways to go. Here's a few ideas.

Other classic soaps: Mitchell's Wool Fat, Speick, La Toja.

Other German/Austrian soaps: Haslinger, Klar Seifen, Golddachs.

I'm more interested in performance than scent. As long as the scent is pleasant or neutral, I'm happy.

Last edited:

I am relatively new to DE safety razor shaving and have been using Tabac exclusively since the start. I like the soap and the scent.

I also have a small Col. Conk bay rum in a travel container that I haven't tried yet, I like the smell of the raw soap but have not used it yet.