What's new

What makes razor blade aggressive \ non aggressive

Greetings gents, I am new to the classic shaving, I have been shaving for a few mounts and reading a lot about my new hobby. I am starting to understand differences between aggressive and smooth DE safety razors, but I have no idea what makes some razor blades aggressive and others smooth.So I decided to ask the pros ... what is it, is it the hardness of the steel or type of the steel, the edge profile or what?
I am looking up for your opinion. Thanks in advanse.

Space_Cadet

I don't have a funny description.
Not the type of the steel but the edge grinding profile and characteristics. Different types of coatings also have some impact. Some blades are just sharper than others, and that is not a subjective opinion, but an objective fact, that can be confirmed by an analysis under a microscope. However, there are a lot of subjective elements to the feeling of the blade on your face and that is what makes blades a very YMMV thing.

While I'm a straight razor guy, my experience is that people generally refer to razors as "mild" vs. "aggressive". Blades usually get categorized in two aspects, "sharpness" and "smoothness". IME, many tend to prefer combining a "sharper" blade with a "milder" razor. And blades that tend toward "harshness" out of the wrapper become more "smooth" after a shave or two.

There's a chart somewhere on B&B depicting at least one person's rating of many DE blades on these two characteristics.

As stated, edge geometry, blade thickness, coatings, etc., are all designed to foster "sharper" or "smoother" characteristics.

JCarr

More Deep Thoughts than Jack Handy
Razors are generally categorized as mild or aggressive. Razor blades are categorized by their sharpness. Staying with the razors themselves, I would say aggressiveness has to do with a combination of blade exposure and angle.

Now I'll step aside and allow much more experienced folks to throw darts in my forehead.