What's new

What is your experience head-shaving with a DE?

Hey guys!

I have been head-shaving for about 3 years, used a cartridge until a few months ago when I started using the Qshave adjustable razor.
I found out that generally, I prefer a milder setting with a sharper blade (Astra SP), I don't like much blade-feel on the dome and milder blades had a hard time with the thick hair at the sides.
Overall it'll take me about 3 passes and some buffing to get a shave as close as with a cart.

I'd like to hear about your experiences with head-shaving using a DE, what did you find worked best for you?

ERS4

My exploding razor knows secrets
I have used DE since the first time I shaved my head. I have also used Merkur futur clone=Mingshi 2000/Qshave for a while.

But some of its problems did cause me trouble:
1. The fat cap makes it difficult to enter the details behind my ears.
2. The shape of the razor's head is easy to retain some water, and it is not easy to flow out when it is lightly shaken, but it will suddenly flow out during the shaving process and let the soapy water fall into the eyes.
3. The blade is kept farther away, so there is a lack of edge stability, which is also the main reason for the loud blade chattering; the blade bounce will reduce the stability of passing thick hair and the skin comfort.

Even though I still like its shave head effect most of the time.
The above-mentioned troubles that I originally ignored appeared repeatedly, until I realized that it did not perform as well as my other razors. Even if I tried to use the original merkur futur later, a similar situation occurred. It can be seen that this is a problem with the original design.

-----
Now I prefer to shave my head with a neutral exposure razor to avoid cutting some skin imperfections that cannot be seen in the mirror (such as a small scar on the back of my head).

Most of the time, the neutral blade exposure + sb/sc safety bar razor is enough to meet my needs.