What's new

What goes up must come down

Well good news bad news. Good news I got my lathe out of storage and decided to try making a new brush. So I had a apple tree that fell in my yard years ago and I had a piece left over so I cut a workable piece (it was a little punky and I prob shouldn’t have wasted time) but I was anxious to use my old lathe. So anyway this is my first try and brush making, and I was so happy with it and just was thinking how cool this brush will be and as I’m undoing the crank the brush just falls into 2 😩 so while I’m disappointed I’m excited to get some better wood and turn some beauties

Attachments

• 53677B84-C896-4743-A36D-949FBE7CBD84.jpeg
    53677B84-C896-4743-A36D-949FBE7CBD84.jpeg
    944.5 KB · Views: 64
  • DA66EC73-F185-4FBE-AF0C-9AA57F5EAE1B.jpeg
    DA66EC73-F185-4FBE-AF0C-9AA57F5EAE1B.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 63
  • B3967966-07EF-4679-B9F4-4E7478BCD254.jpeg
    B3967966-07EF-4679-B9F4-4E7478BCD254.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 62
  • DB65B1A8-B9FE-44A2-B243-641D064194D0.jpeg
    DB65B1A8-B9FE-44A2-B243-641D064194D0.jpeg
    1 MB · Views: 60
Just had idea. What if I drill out a little hole in each side put a rod to connect them (leave a small gap) and fill with a colored epoxy? Might be a cool unique touch to the apple wood....stay tuned

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bake wood in oven at 215 deg. for one hour if your unsure of the woods condition and moisture on the inside. let cool and breath off moisture, etc for a day. line cookie sheet with foil so you don't get shot by significant other.

this is what I've done with wood from the scrap/brush pile.

camo

bake wood in oven at 215 deg. for one hour if your unsure of the woods condition and moisture on the inside. let cool and breath off moisture, etc for a day. line cookie sheet with foil so you don't get shot by significant other.

camo