What's new

What did you major in? How much does it apply to your career?

I'll start this thread off by giving some background. I'm currently a freshman in college majoring in business. The school I'm going to has a business school that's ranked in the top 20 business schools in the country. I was lucky enough to have been offered direct admission to the school rather than having to wait a year and applying to the school with no guarantee to get in.

As my second semester and first year of college is winding down, I've found that I'm enjoying the business school as much as I thought and hoped I would. It's not that I'm doing poorly or think it's way too easy, I just don't really feel like I'm actually being taught anything. I know a lot of people change their majors in college, but it got me thinking about how much my undergraduate degree would end up relating to whatever career path I find myself on.

This thread isn't for me to try and find the most "popular" major and change to that...that would be silly. If I do change my major I'll most likely pursue something along the lines of history because I've thoroughly enjoyed all of my history classes both in high school and so far in college. I also like writing, but I'm certainly not good enough to make a living off of it. :laugh:

This site is full of intelligent people and I'm just interested in seeing what everyone went to school for and how much it applies to their careers years later.

I majored in Music, but I'm in the "IT" area now. Go figure. The fact that I have a BA has helped, but most of what I learned in class is kind of sitting dormant in my brain. My best advice is, get good grades and don't do anything to tarnish your reputation.