What's new

What did you learn from your last writing session?

In the spirit of the What did you learn from your last shave? thread, I thought it might be neat to see if folks learn things from their last writing session.

As a Nib newb, I am practicing several nights a week to improve my handwriting, and I've been using a Pilot 78g with a broad italic nib. I found it rather scratchy, and I wasn't having much success with varying the line widths. I read an article on how to use a flex nib, and I tried the angle suggestion, which made a huge improvement with my italic nib!

proxy.php

As someone with a new flex nib pen on the way, I appreciate you posting that article.

As far as what I've learned, I too am relatively new to this, but the thing I'm trying to teach myself is to slow down and enjoy the process.

For years I was a newspaper reporter, and that meant scribbling notes down furiously so as not to misquote someone or get a fact wrong. Now that those days are past, I need to slow myself down. My current penmenship isn't the best ... so I've got lots of room for improvement.

As someone with a new flex nib pen on the way, I appreciate you posting that article.

There are several other articles on the site pertaining to flex nibs. I enjoyed all of them, and learned a lot. It seems like flex nibs kind of had their golden era in the late 1800's and early 1900's. I thought about trying one out, but I am going to stick with the italic a bit longer now that it is working better.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
No, no, no. When writing with an italic you need to use it at an angle. For me, it isn't quite 45* but a little less. If you don't the letters won't look right.

I hold all my pens at that angle, that's how I was taught. Things you read for flex nibs don't always apply to italics.

$anna-hornby-left-hand-diagram.jpg$Angular Italic.jpg

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"