What's new

Wetshaving rookie here

Hey there shavers,
I'm a rookie wetshaver from Israel.
New to the hobby and new to the forum!

I must say I love the hobby and with 2 cheap vintage DE safety razors I want to dip my toe in straight razors without braking the student bank I'm barely holding.

I'd appreciate any tips and/or suggestions
Blessed shaves!

Welcome to B&B.
Do look in to the straight razor section. Straight razors will need honing and stropping so those additions to carry out those tasks can work out expensive when you add in the cost of a decent straight razor. Maybe you should try a shavette as an entry point to straight razors. Having said that you may find a cheap straight razor to bring up to shave ready condition.

Welcome to B&B.
Do look in to the straight razor section. Straight razors will need honing and stropping so those additions to carry out those tasks can work out expensive when you add in the cost of a decent straight razor. Maybe you should try a shavette as an entry point to straight razors. Having said that you may find a cheap straight razor to bring up to shave ready condition.

+1 to all of that, _except the last sentence_.

I advice _not_ getting a cheap straight razor, and trying to sharpen it. I tried that route, and it was very frustrating. Old / cheap straight razors can have _many_ flaws, and sharpening them can be very tricky.

I eventually got a new Dovo "Best Quality" (a "low-end" straight razor), which had been hand-honed by the dealer selling it:
. . . Only then, did I understand what "sharp" or "shave-ready" meant.

You can low-cost sharpening techniques (pastes / sandpaper / abrasive film). But you need _just as much skill_ to use those, as you do to use proper sharpening stones (or "barber hones", which are available used).

Having tried the low-cost methods, I finally bit the bullet, and got a set of full-size Norton stones (240/1000, and 4000/8000 grit), and a barber hone: