What's new

Western boot recommendation?

Hello all, first post.

Starting off, not a cowboy. I’m looking for recommendations for a western boot. I wear suits daily, usually with Alden bluchers or Allen Edmonds first ave. I live in New Mexico, and while discussing my need to recraft my AEs someone recommended I look for some western boots. They are common here, but I’m a novice with this style.

I’ve been looking at Lucchese, but want to consider other options. Hoping to find Alden quality and durability with a subtle style. Maybe even a little out of my comfort zone.

About me: heavy guy, size 13 EE boot, conservative dresser usually. Dislike pointy toes. Looking for something good for daily wear (10+ hours/day)

I wear Western work boots. The tops are leather western looking, but the bottoms are rubber instead of leather. They have a mildly lugged bottom for traction.....Anyway, like you I have a long foot. I prefer a boot with a saddle vamp. It breaks up the way the boot looks in length and blends well with the cuff of your pant.

My current boots are Ariat. They are very comfortable on long days. I am not really endorsing the brand. Ariat simply had a boot with the look I liked. They are squared toed with a saddle vamp. The name of them is Sierra.

I am sure the exact boot I wear is not what you are looking for. However, I thought you may like the look of a saddle vamp boot and not know what it was called.

Last edited:
I’ve been a fan of Justin boots for years, western style, pull on work boots, and Roper style for good. I find the lower heel is easier on my bad back.
I just picked these earlier this year- JUSTIN BOOTS #3170 GIDEON
Very comfortable, they come with a nice shine from the factory, and can easily be touched up. I’d have no problems in wearing them with a suit or business casual setting.