What's new

Well, here we are

I'm not a very convincing newbie here, because I used a DE between 1973 -- 1982. I know for sure I was using the thing back in '82, because I stepped on it (ow!) and got a neat little triangular divot bitten out of my heel.

Fair play.

That pretty little Gillette razor was probably dragged all over Europe in the 1940s and the 50s, because it was my dad's.

OK dad, I still have the thing. There is something seriously wrong with it, though, like a distorted shaving plane.

When and why did I ever use a cartridge razor? I think that got going when I was money rich and time poor.

I'm currently using a Rockwell 6C, and having a really sleek shave off the R2 plate with an Astra.

Also enjoying a Merkur 23C. It's like the Gillette, but with a long handle, and not open comb.

Well, welcome to B&B. There are a couple of people that might be able to recommend a person to fix your Dads razor. Or at least look at it to see if its fixable.

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
You are gonna fit right in here. Lotsa scars from shaving in our little group, but yours is probably the only in the heel!

Thanks for the welcome, everyone.

I lurked for a couple of weeks, and read some tutorials ( -> Thanks to Aimless Wanderer). It's useful to review what I learned, or maybe learned wrong. I can't even remember how I got into the "hot facecloth" preparation, so that might have been a lucky case of re-inventing the wheel.

That was the way things worked, back in the 70s. Hard to imagine, these days.

Anyway, I'm getting a very acceptable shave now, without skin irritation, which wasn't the case with an M3, or its cheap clones.

Reading here is giving me a terrible case of AD, but what I need to do is use either the Rockwell or the agile Merkur for a solid month, and get my own performance sorted out.

Weirdly, I'm enjoying the cheaper Merkur more than the 6-plate Rockwell; probably because it is almost an old Gillette clone.