What's new

Waterman Hemisphere

Any opinions on this pen? I just ordered the brushed stainless with chrome trim to wear in uniform. I guess it's a little late to ask for opinions now that It's on the way, but at least advise me if the nib will need smoothing. I'm fairly new to fountain pens, with the only pens I have now being cheap kit pens I turned myself. I'm hoping this is a significant writing upgrade and my first foray into a "real" pen.

Waterman nibs have always performed well for me. If anything, they tend to be a little too smooth for my liking. I doubt you'll need to do anything more than ink it up and start writing. Have fun with it! 🙂

I had a M nibbed one, and eventually passed it along. it's a perfectly fine pen, just not my style or preference once I figured out what I did and didn't like about it. and that's to do with me, not the pen.

if it needs any smoothing at all, I'd guess scribbling on grocery store paper bag quality paper will do the trick, and not need more. I can't remember if mine needed it, but I doubt it.

nemo

Lunatic Fringe
Staff member
Congrats! I think you'll be pleased, let us know after you use it.
I've always had good luck with all Waterman products I've owned.
@5whiskey which nib did you order?

Congrats! I think you'll be pleased, let us know after you use it.
I've always had good luck with all Waterman products I've owned.
@5whiskey which nib did you order?

I got the fine nib. I use fountain pens for every day writing at work so I want it to approximate a ball point in appearance.