What's new

Was I being unprofessional. Job interview and follow through.

To start off I recently turned 26. I have a bachelors of architecture (5 years) and a masters of architecture in urban design and regional planning (1.5 years). I went straight through those 7 years with out working so I can primarily focus on university and well I just did not want to work. After university I took a year off to relax.

After the year off I have been self teaching myself new programs and that will enhance my skill set. I have done internships completely unpaid and some with a small stipend in order to build my resume up. The whole point is to land a salaried position so I can move out of my parents home. (I had moved back after bachelors because pops was unwilling to support me bumming around, which is understandable as they paid for everything else).

Currently I am doing a stipend internship 2 days a week at 10 hrs a day for 15 weeks. Pay is $750. The principal paid us intern 200 half way through with the balance at the end. Half way through the principal asked if I'd like to work more hrs. I politely said no reason being 10 hr days are long with transportation it is 13 hrs. Besides doing all the office management tasks would fall on the interns. I need the time to go and further my skill set, apply for jobs etc. of course I did not say this and just politely said no.

The other interns are all students and most by now dropped out of the internship because juggling school and work is hard. The principal offered me a position at the firm after the internship is over. Speaking with other employes all of which were interns at one point I knew exactly his hand. 10$ an hr 2-3 days for a year. I thanked him but did not take him up on the offer to think about it because I have 8 weeks left of the internship.