What's new

Want to try a Shavette but which one?

Hi Gents,
Need some advice about shavette razors, never tried it but would like to give it a go but which one? don't want break the bank since I don't know if its for me I see there's lots of reviews on the dovo which takes a half DE blade which seems a to be practical, all recommendations are most welcome
Thx ✌

I'm a beginner with a Shavette and I'd recommend the Sedef Turkish razors. They're a lot like Arko in that they're Turkish, a great value, and very frequently used by professional Turkish barbers. They can also accept many different types of blades.

Two of them are about five bucks on Amazon.

I like them because the blade holder is so thin that a very shallow blade angle can be achieved, which makes them very gentle on the skin.

If you go the Sedef route, be careful loading a blade into them. That's the only real down-side to the Sedef. The blade loading is a bit finnicky and, quite honestly, not too safe.

The Parker is cheap and popular—it was my first shavette. But I’d suggest trying to find a deal on an AC type. Much more enjoyable to use.

My first shavette was a Wilkinson Sword classic, it was cheap and beautiful, but it only used half de blades and the cheap screws that they used instead of a pin broke. Therefore I can not recommend this razor.

My current Shavette is a Böker Olivewood Barberette. It can use either a half de blade or a Miraki long blade ( I dont know if it's compatible with other long blades). The build quality is exactly what I would expect from a Solingen razor manufacturer and the blades are not as fiddly to install as the Wilkinson sword. This is an excellent shavette and one that I would definitely recommend.

Old Hippie

Somewhere between 61 and dead
I started with a Parker SRX. I wish I'd started with the Focus Slim Al.