What's new

Vintage Gillette razors - An overview for newbies

If you, like me, have been trying to get into the world of vintage Gillette razors, you're probably feeling a bit confused. There are no clear overviews of the landscape, and a lot of concepts are taken for granted. Names and pictures get thrown around, but what do they represent? Is a New Improved newer than a NEW? What is an Aristocrat anyway? How do you tell one from the other? When were they made, and how do they shave? Hopefully this post can provide you with some guidance.
I'll state right upfront that I'm not an expert: I don't even own a Gillette yet! But, in trying to decide what I should look for, I managed to gather some info and understand a few things, and I'd like to share that. I won't go into too much detail, instead I'll try to cover the main points. Hopefully more experienced members will correct and complete my statements, and I'll update the post as we go along.

To begin with, you can see a great illustrated overview of Gillette history here; unfortunately the text is in German. As you can see, there are two categories of vintage Gillette razors: 3-piece and TTO. The former can be divided into 5 main "product lines", in which all models share the same head design. In chronological order:

- Old type: starts in 1904 with the Double Ring. Open comb, base plate and cap are two parallel curves;
- New Improved: made in the '20s. OC, the base plate has a flat part in the middle;
- NEW: made in the '30s. OC, there are short comb and long comb models. The base plate has a crease in the middle parallel to the blade, which gives it a characteristic appearance when seen from the side (with the exception of a few UK models). The alignment pins are flush with the bottom of the base plate. There are also De Luxe models whose base plate has a flat bottom;