What's new

Vector or General

Vector or Colonial General V2?

• Total voters
Hello!

I have never used a single edge razor before, but I am wanting to try one. For those of you who have tried both the Vector and Colonial General V2, what are the pros and cons of each?

For those of you who considered both, what made you choose to buy one over the other?

Is one known for being more versatile with blade choices?

I realize both are great razors andprobably can’t go wrong with either one.

Thanks for your help!

I have a Black Aluminum General and the V2.

I had a Vector and while it does shave well, I had issues with it that could have just been me, I returned it. The Vector is very light weight and you need to use some light pressure to shave. I had absolutely no complaints with how it looks or it’s quality.

The Aluminum General is light weight but still gives a great shave. The V2 is an excellent razor also and is probably my overall favorite razor. I consistently get excellent shaves with the V2 or the Aluminum.

My preference is the General, but YMMV.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
The Vector SB and The General are close, edge to the Vector for being more nimble and maneuverable.

The Vector OC takes things to a higher level. Every bit as nimble and maneuverable as the Vector SB. Higher efficiency and effectiveness.

Currently, I find myself reaching for the Vector OC more than any other razor in my Den.

In my opinion, the Blackland Razors Vector OC is the one to get.

Just my opinion and YMMV. :)

This morning I used the General V2 with a Proline blade so today that is my favourite combo. Tomorrow I will use the Vector with a Super Pro which is already in place, following which I will doubtless change my mind on which is the best yet again. For me, they really are that close.