What's new

Using a Wedge - Any Different from a Hollow?

So, I've owned this antique wedge razor, with ivory scales, for the past two years...

wedge01.jpg
wedge02.jpg
wedge03.jpg
wedge04.jpg

...so...I read somewhere (don't ask me where, I don't remember, this was years ago) - that wedge razors are more difficult to sharpen, and more difficult to shave with, as opposed to the more conventional hollow-grind razor, which is more familiar to us today.

Is this true, or not? Or am I just an idiot?? I've been trying to sharpen this for a while now, and I've been trying to shave with it for the past 2-3 days.

It does shave, and I haven't killed myself yet, but the shaves have been inconsistent. Either it's not sharp enough, or I'm not doing things properly - which seems inconceivable to me since I've been using a straight successfully for 10 years, and I've always done my own sharpening.

So - enlighten me. Is using or maintaining a wedge more difficult than a conventional hollow razor? Or not? Is there something I'm missing here?

Oh, and if anybody's wondering, a friend of mine dated the razor to about 1905. He looked up the manufacturer.

Right, you need to tape the spine possible 2 layers, but try just the one layer to start with and see how that goes. I don't find them any harder but you might find that touch harder to shave with, as it looks to be around the 3/8th mark possibly a 4/8. But a wedge is less forgiving as they bite more than a hollow grind in my hands that is, I hope this helps a little but I'm sure others will chime in on the matter....

Last edited: