What's new

URGENT: Advice needed regarding a razor purchase (Vintage Anton Wingen Jr. 917 Red Point Straight Razor)

I have been wanting to purchase a straight razor for weeks now. I currently use a shavette and much prefer the feel of a straight razor shave to that of modern razors. I am a college student so I can't afford to splurge on a razor. I'm looking to stay around $50 so I figured restoring a vintage myself would be the most cost effective (and gratifying) way to go. Then I found this vintage 5/8” Anton Wingen Jr. 917 Red Point Straight Razor on ebay that is shave ready. I know you can't trust "shave ready" on ebay but the seller said that this is his process for all his shave ready blades: Honed In progression From 1k through 12k and Stropped On aTreated Linen strop and then a leather strop. So I trust that it is shave ready. However, I can't find any kind of information or content on this particular razor/company that would lead me to believe it is reliable.
I'm afraid to pull the trigger on this and get burned. But it also has lots of watchers so I need to act soon if I want to by this. Can someone offer any sound advice before it's too late?

Heres a pic of the listing:
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 2.30.41 PM.png

Thanks in advance!