What's new

Tough Beard hard to to shave

Hello there. I am new to B&B. I have always been using an automatic razor since 17. I just recetly switched to hand shaving and since cannot forget the enjoyable feeling when the razor blade glide through my beard.

There is a problem I cannot tackle: It seems like my beard is very tough to cut clean. I listened to the general advice to shave after hot shower. I even purposely let water go around my neck for around 5 minute before shaving. When I shave with the grain, a good amount of beard remains; when I shave against the grain, I feel strong resistence from the beard and I am afraid if I exert more force I might cut myself.

I certainly have tough beard. The barbers say I have some of the toughest hair they have seen in their career.

I use the Merkur 34C safety razor with shaving gel. I don't use pre-shave oil (should I try?) What are some suggestions regarding this issue?

Thanks in advance.

What blades do you use? For me the blades make a noticeable difference. Try adjusting the angle you use. Maybe ride the cap on the razor and see if it helps.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

What blades do you use? For me the blades make a noticeable difference. Try adjusting the angle you use. Maybe ride the cap on the razor and see if it helps.

Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
I used whatever blade Merkur provided me when I got the 34C. I just bought another extra 50. I heard they have one of the sharpest blade tho. What other blade options are there?

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Welcome to the forum. Some blades that have notoriety for being very sharp are Feathers or Kai. I would look at getting a blade sampler pack and seeing what works best for your type of whiskers. Many shaving shops sell them or some sites even sell them individually.