What's new

Total noob and a bit nervous.

I have a couple GD that are getting honed and a strop on the way. In the past, I have generally not done well with shavettes. What should I be wary of and how should I approach this style of shaving?

Everyone is nervous at first, you should be a little cautious when first using a straight!
Watch a bunch of videos on Youtube.
It is a worthwhile skill to learn and as with all skills, it takes a little bit of practice.

I know nothing about using a shavette though, never tried one and probably never will.

Start by doing just your cheeks for a while until you develop a comfort level there then move on to your neck and other parts of your face. If you haven't done so already watch some how to videos and try to learn a bit from those. You can pick up some good tips there like how to get a close shave under your nose.

The times I've cut myself have generally been from doing something stupid like attacking a trouble spot from a direction I had no business attacking it from. I could have predicted with certainty that I was going to cut myself but I stupidly did it anyway. Don't chase perfection as it'll take you around 100 shaves to get decent at it. In the mean time you can always follow your straight razor shave with a de razor.

Just take your time and relax while you're shaving. You'll do fine.

Start by doing just your cheeks for a while until you develop a comfort level there then move on to your neck and other parts of your face. If you haven't done so already watch some how to videos and try to learn a bit from those. You can pick up some good tips there like how to get a close shave under your nose.