What's new

To trim or not to trim?

Did you use an electric trimmer, or scissors?
Both I mostly did it with scissors, but used a trimmer for the top inch or so to fade it into the shaved head. I've been scissor cutting the chin for years so I have some experience, but his was the first time I scissor cut the sides. I just went real slow over the coarse of a day. combed it out did a little trimming and walked away before I got to carried away with it then came back a little later and combed it again checking for evenness until I was happy with it.

If it is your first time using scissors the best piece of advice I can give is. If you pull it straight to cut it make sure you are not pulling the skin out too. Otherwise when the skin snaps back you realize you trimmed to much. Also go slow you can always go back and cut more.

Yea, just letting it grow is the plan. I may trim the sideburns a little if they start to get wild again. And maybe the mustache, I usually trim it when I start chewing on it. I'm trying to really let it grow out to a natural looking western handlebar. I always like the looks of a good mustache with a full beard. I always felt like my stache was a little weak, but am surprised at how well it is filling out.

If you aren't using proper beard oil yet, I would recommend it. Good beard oils will contain argan or jojoba for strengthening the hair and some essential oils for scent. I LOVE using beard oil. It smells freakin' awesome, makes your beard soft and itch free, helps control "fly-away" hairs, controls beard-dandruff, and keeps the skin under the beard soft and supple. I oil twice daily...in the morning, after washing my face, before going to work and in the evening after my shower and head shave. I also use a strong hold wax to keep my mustache out my mouth.