What's new

To my fellow mustache waxers

Hi All,

Hopefully, I've posted this in the right place.

I was wondering if any of you handlebar stache wearers have any experience with Rex Wax and/or Foad. At the moment, I'm using a combination of Pinaud Clubman and Firehouse dark, which works well, but I don't like the feel of Pinaud or the fact that it is water soluble, so I'm looking for alternatives. Any thoughts?

i have to use wax to keep my goetee straight when i grow it long. and firehouse is amazing. im suprised you dont like that the best. i havent tryed rex wax or foad. but if you do please post up about it. man stuff makes all diffrent smelling waxes you could try.

The Firehouse is good, but when I use it by itself, my stache starts to sag after a few hours. The combination of Pinaud and Firehouse is solid all day. However, I'm new to the whole handlebar thing, so I'm still experimenting. I'll definitely post my thoughts if I try Rex wax or Foad. I'd also like to try Firehouse's wacky tacky.

Does man stuff have a website?

Thanks for the link. Looks like a very informative site.

Unfortunately they don't get anywhere near the traffic of the badger, so getting responses can be a pain. If you read through you will find recipes to make your own waxes. After trying Clubman wax I am rather untrusting of most manufactured wax.

I was thinking of trying the firehouse wax. From that site it seems like that is the most trusted. Using just pomade I understand the mustache sag all to well. The only thing I liked about clubman was the comb, excellent for mid-day adjustments.

I came across the DIY wax recipes. Very cool. I can't wait to give them a try.

I'm not crazy about the clubman either, particularly the feel of it. But, while it has far less hold than the Firehouse, for whatever reason it does a better job of giving my stache an overall tidy appearance, which is why I currently use a combination of the two. I also enjoy the comb/brush. Very handy.

strop