What's new

Ties: The End

The pandemic has hastened the end of tie-wearing as a standard in certain professions. How long will it be before ties are gone entirely from the menswear scene? I stopped regular tie wearing as a schoolteacher 20 years ago, still wore one to the local house of worship until about 10 years ago, and aside from special occasions, haven't worn one since.

captp

Pretty Pink Fairy Princess.
Haven't worn a tie regularly since 1970 when I graduated from Catholic high school. Probably no more than 5-6 times since then. My job never required a tie, so never wore one there. I do, however, still know how to tie one.

I started out in three pieces, cufflinks (have a collection of vintage ones) and the full Monty. Even before the pandemic a tie was something for trade fairs, the very first meeting with clients on board level or official functions.

Nowadays I don’t even wear one on fairs or talking to an audience. Business casual (Blazer, dress pants, buttondown shirt, loafers) is now pretty much my only workwear. In Summer I skip the jacket and switch to Chinos.

Ravenonrock

I shaved the pig
There was a Greek restaurateur at my local ski resort who was known for cutting your tie in half with a chefs knife if you dared wear one in his establishment. It became a thing. There were half tie bottoms all over the walls. I never witnessed this myself. Back to the OP, I’ve always felt the tie was an unusual piece of mens fashion, never being a fan myself. In Back To The Future II, the future fashion in mens wear was two ties side by side. Ouch!
231DBDF3-CCC5-416F-88AA-5984D4E965FB.jpeg

I wore a tie one time.
High school graduation. Never did understand why as the robe covered the think.
I've been married twice, have graduated from other schools, been to funerals, and have been the best man at 3 weddings, still never put one on after high school.