What's new

Threads slipping while screwing the razor head.

I have been using a DE razor for a few years now. Since a couple of weeks I find that the threads slip while fixing the head on to the stalk when the blade is in. But when the blade is removed, it fits perfect. This is a non-butterfly type. Should I get a new razor?

I think I bought it in 2010. It is Old Spice

Attachments

• Razor Top view.jpg
    Razor Top view.jpg
    132.8 KB · Views: 35
  • Razor side view.jpg
    Razor side view.jpg
    211.7 KB · Views: 34
It looks as if the threads are badly corroded. If you've been using it regularly for the last 11 years, you've gotten your money's worth from it, and it's time for a new razor. I'm not at all familiar with an Old Spice double edge razor, so I can't suggest something that would be similar.

From the looks of the top plate (looks like Zamak), could be that that the post is separating from the plate. In which case, it will one day just pop off when you screw on the handle. Likely time for a new razor....

Last edited:
Okay, got the new set delivered by Amazon. It is Pearl Brand open comb. They have sent a set of 10 blades too.

Attachments

• The new razor.jpg
    The new razor.jpg
    225.7 KB · Views: 17
  • What's inside.jpg
    What's inside.jpg
    249.6 KB · Views: 17
  • Package.jpg
    Package.jpg
    237.8 KB · Views: 17
Welcome to B&B.
I got an idea to place a thin washer in between the plates to shift the thread alignment during locking. Now the razor works like an open comb one. It has become more sharper.
That probably works like a shim and hence you got a bigger blade gap, if I am reading that correctly. That washer also brought another thread into play but it won't last long.
Okay, got the new set delivered by Amazon. It is Pearl Brand open comb.