What's new

Thoughts on preshave oils or creams

If one has a good soap lather do you really think preshave products make a difference or is it just marketing hype to sell more unnecessary stuff? What’s your thoughts on this? To me the oils under the lather seem to cause blades to gunk up more but I’m still learning.

I don't use the pre-shave oils for the very reason that you mentioned: gunking up of brushes and blades. Plus, it seems to add increased razor drag as well.

I think that in many cases it is just marketing stuff/hype.

However one friend said that he just liked an extra dose of the scent he was enjoying before he actually started to lather up.... and so it was just an extension of the sent experience.

I think generally it's not necessary,but I do leave room for the fact that there may be some skin types out therethat really need this kind of extra treatment to get a good shave.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk

At one time I used pre-shave oils. I never had a problem with them with my razor or brush. However, I used a light pre-shave oil I bought from T&H or one that I mixed myself. You can find some recipes here. Lately, I have been using on occasion a pre-shave product from Grooming Department.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
I use Cremo as a pre-shave.

Slick. Adds an additional layer of protection. Augments and supports the regular lather.

Much more reasonably priced than most. ;)

I find that if I put preshave on the areas that are prone to irritation (upper lip and just under the lower lip) then I have a more comfortable shave and those areas have less irritation. I don't use the preshave anywhere else.

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member