What's new

Thiers Issard in the bin

I'm fairly new to SR and TI razors, all but one were OK to Excellent from day one, no stropping on the first shave out of box. Only TI have honed my TI blades before me, no dealer has adjusted the blades.

One particular blade that was a challenge at first, not being that sharp, but I was able to improve the edge a bit on stones. That one isn't super flat, and it's best honing (in my lay skillset and equipment) now happens on a narrow leather paddle strop with cheap paste. It feels like a significant amount of effort and laps goes into improving the edge compared to other razors I've used.

I expect all my TI's will now follow the leather honing + paste regime they recommend until I can't keep them sharp, which they claim can be many years (they actually say one dozen years on leather only). They sell these leather paddle strops and chromox products and diamond pastes, but the stone they sell they don't even recommend.

My opinion is that TI's old world methods, romantic historic designs demand an old world skill set, patience and appreciation for potential challenges due to imperfection and uniqueness you get.
The straight razor may seem like a phallic object, but these french beauties are women with their charm, curve and character, and need to be well understood and approached carefully if you want to have a good go with them.
Thanks mattps1. Bought the leather. Bought the paste, chromox et al. Didn't work. When you say 'all but one were ok' I wonder what that one is as a percentage of the TI's that you own? 25%?
Are you saying the imperfection and uniqueness is unavoidable at manufacture? The folk on this forum have the skills to overcome those imperfections, so why can't the manufacturers?
I understand that if the manufacturing was up to the mark, we would not have the pleasure of learning these skills. But the requirement to learn those skills should be honestly declared by the manufacturer or purveyor.