What's new

The straw that broke the camel's back. Oh when shall it arrive?

Hello all. I normally try to be positive (or at least be funny in my sarcasm), but I am quickly reaching the end of my rope. I would not normally vent on-line, but the overall positivity of this forum makes me think that any comments I receive may be positive suggestions, or at least not venomous flaming. I will try my best to keep this civil, but if the benevolent Mod overlords decide that this thread needs to be removed, so be it. I shall accept the ramifications with grace.
In short, the last year has been a study in the concept of Murphy's Law. For those not familiar with this governing rule of the universe, it basically states that "Whatever can go wrong will, at the worst possible time." As a paramedic, I always viewed it as job security- until it hit home with a vengeance.
To keep it short, it started thus: Last January, my beloved fiancé had to have major surgery for a chronic medical condition. Her healing was complicated and protracted, and cynical though I am I cannot stand to see her in pain. She has since gotten better (Finally!), but the scars remain on her body and consciousness.