What's new

The new (used) SP101 .38 special is here!

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Well, had it out to the range already. Love it! The trigger is not bad, but I do have the Wolff spring kit and plan on trying the 12# spring. If I like it, I'm not after the lightest pull and I'll stop. If I feel like I should try the 10# it will take 300 rounds of practice ammo to get me confident in it, but I bet the 12# will do the trick. Other than reaming the trigger return spring channel, I'm not planning on doing all that Mcarbo polishing, I doubt it's needed.

Love the gun, especially the Trausch grips, they are terrific! I did not have any issue with a speedloader at all with them. Very comfy little gun. I can see this is the .357 sized gun, the chambers are just reamed a bit shorter, it's very obvious. I'm confident enough in the +P stuff, I'm not really interested in reaming it out to shoot .357 Magnum, I do that in my Security Six.

Finally, I got a Galco Combat master for it, and it's a great holster. They usually have some kind of 15% off promo deal, and I got one. Yeah, I've had fancy one-man-shop holsters, but IMNSHO, you can find a cheaper holster than the Galco, and you can find a better holster than the Galco, but you can't find a better holster for less money than a Galco. They are top quality products at reasonable, if not cheap prices.

Other than the spring replacement, the only other thing I plan on doing is easing the edges of the trigger and the trigger guard, they are a bit sharpish. Maybe I'll polish it up like I did my little Taurus snubby, but not sure I have that much energy. We'll see. Here is a shot of what I took to the range yesterday and a shot of the SP101 and the gun in the Galco holster.

gun.jpg

gun2.jpg

gun3.jpg

OkieStubble

Dirty Donuts are so Good.