What's new

The Merkur 25C how is it?

I see it has an open comb which I've never used will that feel different than my 1967 Gillette Speed? They say it's a mild razor so I may not feel much difference? Any suggestions are appreciated.

I have it and found it to be a comfortable razor. I am not sure it is quite as mild as my Super Speeds. It is a bit easier to navigate around the nose and chin. I also have the 23C. The 25C may be a touch more aggressive than the 23C... but not overly so.

I began wet shaving with the 23C some years ago. After I bought my '62 Slim, I loaned it out to my lady friend Miss Linda. Now that I have some years of DE experience, I need to get it back and try a shave or two (NOT with whatever blade she's used on her legs) with a good cream/soap.

I previously owned a 15c which has the same head just a shorter handle, which is narrow diameter but not certain of the dimension. For me the narrow diameter was a problem, so I put a Weber bulldog on the razor. The cap securely clamps the blade tight to the comb in the manner of Fatip therefore zero gap. The cutting action is close and efficient and not aggressive in the sense of risky regarding cuts. In one pass, it will cut away two weeks scruff without clogs and clean up easily with two more passes. One feature that I do not like is the bluntness of the combs tines compared to Fatip-Schone which curl the tines down. On the plus side, the 25c head has better blade registration than Fatip. All things considered, Fatip-Schone make a better less expensive razor, with a similar cutting action.

I bought this as my first "real" DE after using a Wilkinson (the black plastic DE) for approx. 20 years.
The head is quite ok for me, as RowanN wrote the blade is clamped very securely. I did not find it very aggressive but it is slightly less mild than my 68 Superspeed (and a lot more effective at cutting longer stubble).