What's new

The Imperial Shave "Pegasus" Strops

Hi there
I am relatively new to B&B but have been a straight razor for a couple of years now. I have recently purchased and am awaiting a few beautiful new razors including a pre 1890 William Greaves and Sons 5/8ths wedge, and a A Feist & co Lunawerk which is a full hollow 6/8ths

I am currently using a dovo Diamante 5/8ths full hollow and a strop from Straight Razor Designs, the 3" black latigo with the webbing secondary strop.

The SRD was my first strop and as a result is a little cut up.

I am looking into purchasing a really nice strop and have been looking at the Bison Made shell Cordovan and the Imperial Shave's Pegasus strops.

I am very interested in this cordovan leather and love the look of the pegasus.

Does anyone here have any comments to make on the Pegasus strop with the cordovan? Also would people be inclined to recomend the cordovan and horsehide strop or the cordovan and linen strop?

Thank you for anyones help, i know this is a personal questionwith a lot of YMMV! :c2:

ryancathers

Also to utilize my current strop, even though there are some nicks in it, could i put some CrOx on it? :c2:

Obviously you don't get around much!

You left yourself open for that Ryan. It is all in fun.

As for the strops you mentioned I would go with the Bison Shell Cordovan without thinking twice. For one the Bison is Horse Shell. It is a more stiff leather than Latigo, and also the cream of the crop as far as horsehide goes. The Pegasus is Latigo Cordovan. The tanning method is the same, but they are two totally different leathers.

In my personal experience Horsehide brings out an edge much better than Cowhide. Hope this helps.

You left yourself open for that Ryan. It is all in fun.