What's new

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Hi everyone,

Thank you all for the very warm welcome and let me start by saying that you have created an amazing community here on the forums. I found I travelled here more and more and learned so much already from all the advice and experiences I read here.

Let me tell a bit about myself. I'm in my fourties, from the Netherlands but living in Berlin these days where I work as a Software Engineer.

I've had a short beard for several years and shaved both electrically and with cartridges in different periods before that. This spring, with the nice warm weather, I felt like a big change and enjoy the freshness of a great shave again. So I bought a whole bunch of Fusion blades and Gillette Gel. But I hadn't even used a single cartridge when I decided to go DE, with proper soap, a proper brush... Get a real shave!

So I got a Merkur Futur as it is adjustable, Feather blades, an expensive Floris Elite soap and a proper badger brush and I was off. I quickly found I did not like the Futur that much, mainly because of the thick head, heavy weight and long stem; with my cartridge technique I also quickly learned I made better roast-beef than smooth skin that way:S So I've been watching and reading a lot and experimenting to get things right.

I found myself a refurbished Gillette Flathead L2 from 1966 on e-Bay and that was the first big improvement. I love that razor!
Then I found one of those wonderful artisan-style shops here in Berlin (called Soul Objects) that really got me started with supplies and advice. You probably know these kinds of stores where the owners know everything about every product they sell. Nothing to get you more into the shaving-mood than a place like that!