What's new

Technique for Jaw Line and Neck to avoid Razorburn

Good morning Everyone,

I'm relatively new to straight razors and have been using DE for a short time. I'm very proficient with the DE and love it! A little too much with all the equipment I want to buy.

I'm having challenges with razor burn on my neck, especially closer to both ears. I've studied tutorials on you tube and continuing to try to hone my technique. I am able to shave my face with little to no razorburn, just a clean shave. Does anyone have a similar issue with their neck that they overcame and have any words of wisdom or videos they could recommend?

Thank you for all you do on this forum. I really enjoy learning from all your collective knowledge as this is a fantastic new lifestyle for me. Straight razor shaving is a lot of fun and I'm working to get more and more experience to get proficient at it. I'm probably about 6 - 10 shaves in experience.

steveclarkus

Goose Poop Connoisseur
Stretch your skin. Use your wrist and fingers to get an arcing motion. Be inventive. Everyone shaves a bit differently because everyone’s face and beard pattern are different. There is no universally correct way. Just keep shaving and you will learn to shave YOUR face with experience. Just be patient and don’t get frustrated and it will all come together. It’s just shaving.

I'd add to watch your angles.

Along the ears tends to be work with the toe of the razor and it's not hard to find your blade angle is too steep with so little of the blade length touching your cheek.

The neck is easy to be of on your angle because your chin is tilted way up and you're looking way down at a reflection of the razor in the mirror.

If the angles are too steep you are scraping, not shaving. Irritation and razor burn for sure.