What's new

Tape or not (no, not the same old question)

I have a taping question, so I will revive this fairly recent thread.

When honing, I quickly rub a hole through the tape, so I need to replace it. In essence, I am curious as to what your experiences are in this regard, and how you people handle this problem ..?

Context: I have been shaving with straight razors for a few years before, and feel I achieved OK skills shaving, then began honing, and I just did not have much success with honing..! So I eventually gave it up, buried my straight razors and hones deep in a box on the attic, and reverted entirely back to DE shaving. Now I am moving towards another attempt at straight razor shaving, which in turn also means honing, as all my blades need honing to be worth while taking for a spin shaving (qualified straight razor honing services are just not available around here).

And so, to tape or not to tape ...:'
I have previously tried out both, and ended up deciding in favor of taping, though I can also appreciate reasons not to. In brief, I prefer to protect spines, so I tend to go with taping.

Now for my more elaborate questions:
It seems that I quickly wear a hole in the tape so that I need to replace it. Just last night, I used blue tape, and now my hone has this shade of blue all over. I imagine it cant be very good for the hone, although it is a water stone (Naniwa Professional), so I hope it will just wash off, like metal.
Ideally, I would be able to find some brand of tape that is tough enough to let me hone without having to replace the tape all the time, and make a mess of my hone. Can anyone recommend a particular brand of tough tape that is suited for the job (and ideally available in the EU ..)?

And how do you people handle this problem with "worn through" tape? Do you change up tape every five or so minutes, like I do ..?