What's new

Suggestions for a newb

Total newb. As far as I can tell, these seem to be the fragrance families. Since high school I have only worn one frag, “redwood”. But now I’m attempting to collect a cologne of each of the families! So let me know what you have and what family it belongs to
  1. Aquatic
  2. Citrus
  3. Chypre
  4. Floral Single
  5. Floral bouquet
  6. Fougere
  7. Gourmand
  8. Leather
  9. Middle-eastern
  10. Oriental
  11. Woodsy

Ad Astra

The Instigator
6. Try Houbignant Fougere Royale. Samples are available; its about as classic a fougere as can be.

You might consider reading the Turin/Sanchez book, too.

AA

Hi radrick, the following might be of some interest to you although it’s a few years old now:

It’s a link to, in my opinion, one of the best mainstream masculine fragrance charts. It sets out classic men’s fragrances by family and the main sub categories within them.

Some I own by family:

1) Giorgio Armani - Acqua di Gio
Bvlgari - Aqva (although I own the ‘Amara’ flanker).
Issey Miyake - L’eau D’Issey Pour Homme

2) Acqua di Parma Colonia
Giorgio Armani - Eau Pour Homme
Givenchy - Monsieur de Givenchy

3) Chanel Pour Monsieur EDT
YSL Pour Homme
Aramis
Chanel Antaeus
Chanel Sycomore

6) Aramis Tuscany
YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme
Dolce & Gabbanna Pour Homme
Drakkar Noir
Calvin Klein Eternity Pour Homme - don’t own anymore but belongs to the Fougere family
YSL Jazz

8) Tom Ford - Tuscan Leather & Ombré Leather

10) Guerlain - Habit Rouge
Chanel - Egoiste
YSL - Opium Pour Homme
Chanel - Allure Pour Homme

11) Ralph Lauren - Polo
Guerlain - Vetiver Extreme
Givenchy - Gentleman (1974)
Ermenegildo Zegna - Javanese Patchouli

Wow you have some good sounding choices! What’re your top 3?

Hi radrick, the following might be of some interest to you although it’s a few years old now: