What's new

Suggest a cart alternative to the Mach 3

I've been using the Mach 3 since 1998 and love it. It is now relatively reasonably priced and gives me a great 2 pass shave with no hassles. I have DE's and use them on the weekends, but Monday - Friday I need to use a cart as I don't have the time (or don't take the time) to give a safe, close DE shave.

Any Gillette model is now out (don't ask--I don't want the thread locked) so I need to find a good alternative. I just bought the Schick Quattro at my local Walgreens and have a Dorco 3 blade and Dorco 4 blade on the way. About a year ago I bought a Dorco twin blade but was not impressed with the closeness of the shave. And the attachment mechanism was cumbersome.

I don't use disposables and I don't like anything with more than 4 blades. I'd prefer it to have 3 or 2 blades but 4 is acceptable.

Price needs to be under $2.00 per cart. I don't mind buying in bulk for something that works well.

Is there anything else out there I should consider other than the Schick Quattro and a Dorco?

Thanks.

I thought the carts from Harry's or the other shave club had a good reputation for quality and comfort though I've never tried them. Cheaper alternative than the brand name carts.

I don't see a difference in the amount of time I spend using my DE every morning. Two passes, easy as pie for me (just saying).

I've recently been shaving with the Feather F3 carts, and they have been pretty good. I feel like the Mach3 might shave a bit closer, but the F3 feels very smooth. Some people seem to complain about the handle with the damper on it, but you can get any of the Feather cart handles and they are all interchangeable with any of their cartridge types. MR3Neo or F2 (the two blade version).

I have yet to try the MR3Neo or the F2, but I have read some good feedback on the MR3Neos, so planning to give that a try next.