What's new

Strops, strops, strops....

So I'm new to this. Super new. I bought a Dovo M.O.P razor with all the fancy gold shenanigans about it. I realized although very sharp, it's not ready. Then I got my strop out, I realized then, my strop made by G.B.S., isn't all that great. The brown side is quite rough and wrinkled in parts, also it feels thin and paper, very slick to the touch. I ordered the Illinois 127, rave reviews. Its dented in places, has some scarring. Feels better than the other but I'm not sure I can strop on this with out causing damage to my blades. I sent the pealex handled one off to theperfectedge, my other just a plain black Dovo from straight razor design will be here tomorrow.
So, I want a quality strop. I want one that will last a very long time, that won't come all banged up. I read about Tony Miller, when I checked he was out of stock on the ones that were suggested, the plain Vania and the cheapest one he carries. Are there other options that aren't 350$ Japanese made strops?
I just want to make a smart investment in my shaving routine.

Thanks

I bought a poorman’s strop from Larry at WhippedDog.com. I’m new as well, but it’s a nice piece of leather. It also came with a balsa strop for touch-ups.

So I'm new to this. Super new. I bought a Dovo M.O.P razor with all the fancy gold shenanigans about it. I realized although very sharp, it's not ready. Then I got my strop out, I realized then, my strop made by G.B.S., isn't all that great. The brown side is quite rough and wrinkled in parts, also it feels thin and paper, very slick to the touch. I ordered the Illinois 127, rave reviews. Its dented in places, has some scarring. Feels better than the other but I'm not sure I can strop on this with out causing damage to my blades. I sent the pealex handled one off to theperfectedge, my other just a plain black Dovo from straight razor design will be here tomorrow.