What's new

Stropping

Gentlemen,

I am fairly new to this manner of shaving. About 2 years ago I was in Italy and came across a straight razor. It looked interesting so I purchased. Over the next 2 years I became nearly obsessed with learning to property sharpen and hone that plus a couple of new razors. I wathched so many videos I have lost count, I purchased several types of whet stone sets including the full set of Shapton Glass Stones from 1000 to 30000 grit and the referance lapping plate. Of course I also purchased the Norton set, their lapping plate and the DMT full set of DiaSharp plates and their lapping plate. I have tried every imaginable combination and method to sharpen and hone my Dovo Flowing razor. I could easily get the razor sharp enough to slice through the hair on my arms and legs dry. When I came to my coarse facial hair, it has always been painful around chin.

One of the problems I discovered early on was that two of my razors were not flat. I flattened them and this made a slight improvement.

I even purchased the Edge on Up, Bess Certified Industrial Edge Tester. This is a scale that measures the force (in grams) necessary to cut through a standard, certified test media. The lower the number, the sharper the edge.

A high end cutlery edge is around 300 grams new
A utility razor just under 200 grams
A double edge razor blade is about 40 to 60 grams.

My efforts were getting me in the 150 range until I made one significant change. Rather than applying the lightest pressure I could when stropping, I tried heavy pressure.