What's new

Straight razor - small chip at the heel - maybe rust - how to fix

Dear everyone,

I am new to the straight razor business. Got a "new" little puppy (as long as you can call new a 60-70 years old razor) but upon inspection I noticed a 2mm x 1mm chip at the heel. Maybe it even started rusting. Do you have any suggestion what I should do whit this? Not much equipment I have home but I have a Naniwa rust eraser although for this jobbie maybe something else needed.

As this is a fresh buy from eBay and I have not used the razor yet + the razor was advertised as new (never used, so that also means I paid good money for this) I am thinking of sending it back although I really don't want that :(.

I found it impossible that this damage happened during shipping. I checked the eBay images and this chip is not visible there however the seller "relisted" the item (so that means he has more of the same razor) and he used the exact same picture as on my ad meaning the original ad did not have the pictures from the actual item either unfortunately.

Last edited:

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I doubt that your "chip" is corrosion. Looks more like an inclusion that was originally in the steel and became evident when the blade was ground. Aside from it affecting the looks of the razor, it shouldn't affect the blade's shaving ability. If the straight razor is otherwise good, I wouldn't worry about it.

Thank you for the answer. Indeed this won't affect the shaving quality. I am not a metallurgy expert and I was worried that this "chip" can open up the possibility that it starts rusting in the future and on long term I'll have serious problems. Not to mention this little sexy razor cost me ~300 EUR :). But other then this if this is just a cosmetical problem, I'll keep it for sure.