What's new

Straight razor shaves are superior to DE shaves (for me...)

This is obviously my opinion, based on my own experience. So here is my story, and why I think SR shaves are far superior to DE shaves.
I have been wetshaving for 6 years now, started with a DE, and 2 months ago I got myself a Wade & Butcher for my birthday, and that was when everything changed.
in all of my 6 years od wetshaving, I can say that I have never achieved a BBS shave on my neck without some sort of razor burn or weepers with a DE. I can also say with great confidence that this is not because of poor technique, prep etc.
I have tried every type of preshave product and preshave routine, from hot towels to showers with creams and soaps and so forth. I have also tried every possible type of blade in every single type of razor.
I have tried it all, and have yet to achieve a BBS shave on my neck with a DE.
3 years ago I decided to try out a SR, so I got a dovo and used that on and ooff for 6 months, and then I stopped because life got in the way.
That Dovo was crap, 2 months ago I got myself a Wade & Butcher for my birthday. Since then I have maybe used my DE 3 times, and I have achieved a BBS shave on my neck and my entire face with zero irritation or weepers on pretty much every shave in the last month.
I still remember that first time I got that great BBS shave all over, and it blew my mind.
So why am I writing this post? Well I can honestly say that my recent shaves with this Wade & Butcher has revived my interest in wetshaving. before I got it my interest had died down completely, and my shaves had gotten to the point of routine like it used to be back in the cartridge days. I know, sounds like a nightmare! lol.. I am guessing it had come to this because my DE shaves never were anything above mediocre, and that slowly killed my interest in wetshaving..