What's new

Still trying to get a serviceable razor

I’ve gotten two good razors, each honed by the vendors. The vendors came recommended on this forum and I don’t doubt their abilities.

However, neither razor will pass the treetops test and my shaves are not spectacular.

so does this sound familiar? Am I likely mishandling or does my stropping leave something to be desired? I’m a newbie who’s floundering a little bit.

any words of wisdom?

Did they “treetop” before stropping? Could be stropping but hard to say. Treetopping, while works for me, may not work for all due to different hair etc.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
Most of the shave ready razors I've purchase from recommended vendors weren't as sharp as my self-honed fairly early and not great edges. That's mostly, I think, because of the time it takes to get a great edge and the skill and experience required.

That said, I know Slash @Slash McCoy has recommended a couple of vendors. I've not tried them.

There are some very fast and very good honers out there, but they're skilled amateurs. Either that, or they are well known pros (doc226). Most guys selling razors on eBay are neither. Yes, you can sometimes shave with their edges, but not so very well in my experience.

I'll send you a PM, too.

Happy shaves,

Jim

Your shaves are pretty unlikely to be spectacular in the beginning. If the razors are shaving, I'd say continue with them for a while. They're probably ok. The treetop test doesn't work for everyone. If it removes the whiskers on your cheek during the first downstroke, it's sharp enough to learn with. You might prefer sharper than that, but you'll probably have to learn to hone yourself to get the edge that's just right for you.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
My very sharpest razors will give me an ATG (more or less) one pass shave (more or less) that's better than my next tier razors deliver after two or three passes.