What's new

Still have Razor burn, and have actually tried everything...

So, the first time I ever shaved, I got razor burn on my neck, right above my adams apple. I hated it and it was the reason I got serious about shaving in the first. Fast forward 6 years and I still have razir burn, this is what I do.

Razor: I usually shave with a grim dollar straight razor shavette, I have a safety razor, I just feel I get a better shave with the shavette. I've been using it for 2 years now, so I would hope its not a matter of technique.

Products: I use Holy Black snake oil for a preshave, right now Casswey Massey's ROS shaving cream, badger hair brush, and the an alum block and The Holy Black gunpowder and spice aftershave. I then apply a normal moisturizer to my face.

Process: I shave everyday, right after a hot shower. Wet my face, apply preshave, apply cream DIRECTLY to my face. This cream doesn't work up a lather in my scuttle, then let it sit for a minute. Reapply and shave. I usually only do one pass, with the grain. Then, cold water rinse, apply alum block. Rinse that off then use aftershave. Then apply moisturizer.

This is what I do every day, and am still plagued with razor rash on my neck. When I've used straight razors, my burn gets significantly better, but I tend to struggle to keep them sharp, and being in college don't have the time nor money to be honing them all day.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

So, the first time I ever shaved, I got razor burn on my neck, right above my adams apple. I hated it and it was the reason I got serious about shaving in the first. Fast forward 6 years and I still have razir burn, this is what I do.

Razor: I usually shave with a grim dollar straight razor shavette, I have a safety razor, I just feel I get a better shave with the shavette. I've been using it for 2 years now, so I would hope its not a matter of technique.