What's new

Starter kit for a newbie (me)

Ok, while I have been trying to read every possible post, in B&B, I have a simple conclusion that it is impossible. So many good advice given, but so many different styles too. I guess, I am new in this world, and don't have a style of wet shaving so I need help. I need to get my first kit to start to develop my own style.

After long reads, and ebay looking, I have only arrived to one decision... Merkur HD razor. I would love to get an old Gillette, but I am afraid that I will get a bad one and suffer retreat before giving wetshaving a good try. I also get lost in the multitude of old shavers. Anyway, with a razor I was planing on getting the DE sampler to experiment.

But I yet to make any decision on the new & mysterious tool -- the brush. I was initially inclined to get the Vulfix #2233 on Shaveblog recommendation. However, I keep reading good things on Crabtree & Evelyn $35 brush, but which one exactly there are 3 priced at $35. Also there is a big confusion on this post, is the recommended $35 gone, replaced, altered, priced higher, not available in the US, or just retired.

And don't get me started on creams vs soaps. I have no idea what the big difference is about them. So if you could recommend a primer website on both, or recommend one that would be great.

Last thing, what online store or B&B e-mail stores would you recommend to acquire a newbie kit. Looks like I might have to go to several sites. Is there a list of wetshaving online store??

Thanks!!!

you really should watch mantics videos on youtube. he gives some great advice. he also has a list of online wetshaving resources in one of his videos. i personally have had a lot of luck with classicshaving.com. you might want to consider the letterk sampler pack for your blades.:badger:

I agree with luckysealy... you should really check out Mantic's video's. Great for getting you started.