What's new

Star Shaving Brush

I was looking at a Star shaving brush online and was wondering if anyone is familiar with them. Tried to attach a pic but it wouldn't take the file. It is said to be a 1980's era, has a white knot (boar or synthetic?) and says "Set in Rubber" and "Sterilized" USA beneath the Star brand. Looks like and Eveready. I didn't know that they branded them as Star. Anyhow I'd appeciate any information about what the knot might be and anything else you might know about this sort of brush. Thanks.

A pic would sure be helpful. I download pics to my download file, then click the "Attach files" button as I'm writing my thread on B & B which then lets me select the photo I want to use in the thread.

So I went ahead and got this brush. Here are pics. It is listed as from the 1980's and the seller said he thinks it is a synthetic knot. I'm fairly new to the world of brushes and have only had a number of modern synthetics and one horse hair. But I would have expected a synthetic knot from the 80's to be kind of scritchy and not great feeling but this feels very soft. Anyhow, was wondering if anyone is familiar with this kind of brush, what knot it might be etc.

Attachments

• 20230518_183019.jpg
    20230518_183019.jpg
    901.6 KB · Views: 17
  • 20230518_183405.jpg
    20230518_183405.jpg
    831.6 KB · Views: 18
  • 20230518_183443.jpg
    20230518_183443.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 18
A pic would sure be helpful. I download pics to my download file, then click the "Attach files" button as I'm writing my thread on B & B which then lets me select the photo I want to use in the thread.
Thanks for the info. The brush came today and I have posted pics on this thread.

I would be surprised if your Star was as late as the 80s. The knot is almost certainly nylon.

I have a few vintage nylon brushes. I also have a Star that I re-knotted, sticking with boar.

L to R:
Ever-Ready, Esrkine, no name, Star
IMG_4911.jpeg