What's new

Stages of str8 razor enlightenment

Hi, I was wondering if there were stages of progress that people who started up str8 razor shaving have noted.
I've been using straights daily now for about 2 months (but still fairly often with a DE final touch-up admittedly). I'm always pleased with the results on the cheeks, although it's variable under the jaw.
It would be encouraging to get an idea how long it took people to the fairly consistent all over BBS stage. I intend to keep at the gentlemanly art until I finally achieve BBS nirvana.

Thanks for any comments

Bas

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
It took me about three months of daily SR shaving to be able to get the occasional BBS all over, including the neck. I didn't like it because a SR BBS result left me with nothing to shave 24 hours later. I have since modified my technique so that I can do three passes and get a DFS+ result, giving me something to shave the next day.

Two things you need to do; SR shave daily and don't chase BBS. SR shaving daily is all about building up your muscle memory quickly. SR shaving only every second will triple the time. Don't worry about trying to get BBS. That will just happen as your technique develops.

Enjoy the journey. It never ends.

It took me a while. I can't quite remember specific timeframes at this point but I'll make a short list of my own "oh wow" moments with some estimated timeframes.

1. Didn't cut myself- Not counting "weepers", as a cut versus a weeper is a lot more apparent with a straight razor. Probably within about 2 weeks I stopped getting a cut or two pretty consistently. Funny enough my first shave didn't draw blood at all, but I was so timid with it and took so long. The sweat probably added to the slickness :)