What's new

Spreading the gospel of Wet Shaving

Nearly 4 months after my first eye-opening shave with my DE89 and VDH starter kit, the Holidays are fast approaching and I intend to use this as a chance to get more of friends into wet shaving. I already have 1 close friend who hopped on the bandwagon a few weeks ago (with the help of a goodie bag I provided him with), and my cousin/roommate is FINALLY loosening up to the point where I might get him to try 1 of the 8 razors I have gloriously mounted on our bathroom counter.

I'm starting to get a better grip on how to get others to shed cartridge and electric razors. It's tough when you're talking about dudes in their mid-late 20s, because most of us grew up not giving a crap about shaving at all. In an attempt to try and see it more from their perspective, I've begun using simpler products than the ones I've been chasing for the past 2 months. I'm a fan of artisan soaps like Stirling, B&M, and now WSP, but I forget that I had to grow into that phase over the course of my first couple weeks. It's been valuable reading threads/posts from some of you minimalist shavers out there who ride with 1 brush, 1 razor (with perhaps a backup or two), and 1 soap/cream that you simply love. I might be wrong about this, but I think that you minimalists are the silent majority; of which I refer to all current and prospective wet shavers, not just us geeks on B&B and other places (let's face it, the majority around here was more likely to be clicking "refresh" on the B&M site the day the Fougeres were re-released, trying our best to spend $35 as quickly as possible).

I finally see how that's a turnoff. My enthusiasm has scared some of my friends away from this great activity. So... I rewound the tape a bit, and I've tried out some simpler tools that I probably should've tried months back. Specifically, they are:

Razors: