What's new

SOTD - My 3rd Shave with Shavette - 4 nick, 0 cuts

Not posting a picture for everything was exactly same as my 2nd shave. The experience though, is different:
  • No more cuts at all (zero cuts)
  • 4 nicks though
  • no nicks on cheeks. That I have become expert I feel like :) , just 3 seconds on each cheeks and no nicks/cuts/burning/irritation at all on the cheeks
  • nicks were all either on chin or on the Platysma region
  • chin is very complex part to navigate , hence the nicks
  • Platysma region gets nicks because I am still a total newbie at handling the corners of the blade and slanted regions
  • Gillette Permasharp blade became better at 2nd shave. On first shave, it felt so edgy/irregular/not-smooth
  • used way more alum for Platysma region burned a lot
paltysma.jpg

After one more usage of the blade, I will switch to DE Safety-Razor and will use each razor for one week with the same blade. I got Gillette Permasharp, Sterling and Romer 7 Ricardo is on the way from Flipkart.com
gillette-green.jpg
gillette-sterling.jpg

I like all the 7 o'clock blades. Some are sharper and some are smoother. Cant go wrong with those blades. I dont know about those razors. My guess is they will be mild. Still, its not a bad thing.

I still think you should get a Feather shavette and the guarded blades. It will make a world of difference in the shavette shave.

I switched from sharpest blade to mild for my shavettes. Haven’t been cut in over a year. I think what helps is the beginner 14 point shave required for your state barber exams. Learn from the 14 point system the face and you can make a checklist of what areas you need improvement on. It also helps greatly with consistent hand strokes as there are three, freehand, reverse backhand and backhand.