What's new

Some way to clean the innards of old Shick injector, J type?

I'm new to single edge razors, and I bought this old Shick on ebay. I've applied a little Scrubbing Bubbles (no bleach) and a Dawn soap soak, and it looks better. I was surprised that there was a blade in it when it arrived, but I won't be using that. Is there any way to clean/disinfect the insides of the head? If you have any ideas about this, please let me know. It was cheap and I don't think it's worth too much more trouble.
Thank you.

Overkill. The germs have died.

Just soak the razor in warm soapy water for 10 minutes, and then lightly scrub the areas you can reach with an old soft toothbrush. When dry, inject a new blade.

Think about it--how do you clean the germs and cooties off of your own hands? Answer: a little soap and water massaged into your hands and then rinsed. Has anyone ever sickened or died after shaking hands with you? Have you ever sickened after shaking hand with someone?

Life (and shaving) can be complicate enough, without making it more complicated.

I've been a heavy reading of shaving blogs since 2010. I have never read of a person getting sick from using a used razor.

Overkill. The germs have died.
Life (and shaving) can be complicate enough, without making it more complicated.
I've been a heavy reading of shaving blogs since 2010.
I have never read of a person getting sick from using a used razor.

yeah_that.gif