What's new

Some Simpsons advice ..... please.

Merry Christmas Gentlemen !
I have currently enjoy shaving with three Simpsons best badger brushes ----- Berkeley 46, Special, and Colonel X2L.
These are all terrific members of my regular ten brush rotation. Now, ... Amazon has a great price on the Duke 2 ($ 38),
and I'm considering purchasing it. But I need your help, from those who have first hand experience. How different is the
Duke 2 from the three Simpsons badgers that I already have ? Any photos showing the Duke 2 with any (or all) of my
three, showing a good size comparison ? If it's too similar to what I already have, there's probably no sense in buying it.
All comments and suggestions from you fine gentlemen are welcome. Thanks a lot !

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
I have no direct experience of the Berkeley, Special, or Colonel in Best but I have used all the Duke range in Best and Manchurian. Aside from the differences in handles and knot sizes, I suggest the biggest difference will be the density of the knot. The Duke is a much more dense knot than the others although not quite up with the Chubby or Classic. In my view the Duke series are the best all round brushes that Simpson make and the price you quote is an absolute bargain. I would not hesitate to recommend the Duke 2.

I have both the Colonel and the Duke 2, Adam. The knots are very similar, IMO. I know some say the Duke is denser, but in my experience, I just don’t experience much difference.

If I were you, I would consider getting the Duke 3 for something different. It is a VERY nice brush. Larger, yes, but not enormous. Some say it is the perfect size. At ~$80 on Amazon, it is a steal.

$38 for the Duke 2 is criminal as well. If you didn’t have the Colonel already, which amazingly enough is now more expensive than the Duke 2, I would recommend it.

Pictures per your request:
D53956BB-0BBF-4F35-890A-6DB5178AAEB2.jpeg
14244EA6-C370-480E-9717-22B33E1F53AF.jpeg